RSS

Reactive barking not stopping

24 Apr

This evening, we had more reactive barking that was quite continuous. It is almost a habit for no reason. I need to really figure out how to fix this. She seems to bark a lot at the back door when she sees or think she sees neighbors. I can understand how someone walking in a window is scary. But when there is no one there, there is no reason to bark.

I know she’s learning how to respond be cause she’ll let out a bark, then look back at me for guidance. I call her to me when she looks and have her do something like a hand touch or a down and reward. But it’s not helping. The SHHH is still helping a little but the overall emotional change isn’t there.

So aside from everything else we are working on, this is yet another. I will have to really figure out how to change her emotional state, which is hard because this is home. I will work on clicking and treating like the Look at That game in CU. She doesn’t bark as much when on a leash. And the trees in the yard and getting their new leaves and I think when they are fully leaved up, she won’t be able to see the neighbors as much and therefore not react. I do remember this not being as much of a problem before the leaves fell last fall. She’s noticing more things like that.

Otherwise we’re still working our stuff and making progress. We did some running contacts training for fun and she did great.

And I saw on Dr. Yin’s Facebook page that she has the Learn to Earn e-book available on Amazon. It’s worth getting if you don’t have it or don’t have “Perfect Puppy in 7 Days.”

Today I am thankful for trees getting their leaves.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 24, 2012 in 6th week

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment